German Corporate Governance Code

In accordance with § 289a of the German Commercial Code, ROY Asset Holding SE (the “Company”) is required to issue a declaration of corporate management, which is either to be incorporated and published in the management report which is part of the annual accounts or, alternatively, made publicly accessible on the Internet site. ROY Asset Holding SE hereby makes use of the second option:

1. Declaration of Compliance

Since its inception in 2002, the German Corporate Governance Code has been used as a benchmark for good corporate governance. The cornerstones of ROY Asset Holding SE’s management philosophy such as responsibility, transparency and sustainability are in line with the Corporate Governance Code and help underpin the Company’s business success. The Administrative Board and Managing Directors are committed to following and supporting the goals and the spirit of the German Corporate Governance Code.

The Administrative Board adopted the Company’s Declaration of Compliance with the German Corporate Governance Code pursuant to section 161 of the German Stock Corporation Act in August 2019.

The Declaration of Compliance is made public in a separate section on ROY Asset Holding SE’s website (Declaration of Compliance) under https://www.roykeramik.de/en/entsprechenserklaerung/.

2. Practice of corporate governance at ROY Asset Holding SE

(a) General
Beyond the mere compliance with applicable laws and regulations, as well as the Corporate Governance Code, ROY Asset Holding SE’s corporate governance is based the rules of procedure of the Administrative Board and the Managing Directors as well as its customary business practices.

The Company has a written code of conduct, which is communicated to all employees of ROY Asset Holding SE and its group companies (together the “ROY Group”) . All employees are required to comply with the ROY Group’s code of conduct when they join the ROY Group. Departures from the ROY Group’s approved policies and procedures are prohibited and sanction will be imposed for non-compliance.

ROY Asset Holding SE’s Managing Directors are consistently working on improving all aspects of its operations including occupational health and safety, sales and distribution and its conduct as a socially responsible corporate citizen.

(b) Corporate Compliance
Compliance with the relevant statutory provisions for its operations and internal company policies is an essential part of ROY Asset Holding SE’s corporate governance. It is one of the key duties of all business areas to ensure compliance with the prevailing policies in the individual areas of responsibility. In particular, all business activities in Germany and USA were carried out in strict compliance with local laws and international conventions. Specific compliance requirements are laid out in ROY Group’s code of conduct.

(c) Risk Management
The Company’s risk management policies are described in detail in the risk management section which is part of the combined management report. They are designed in accordance with statutory provisions to detect significant risks early so that appropriate measures can be taken in order to minimize, diversify, transfer or avoid risks thus ensuring the continuity of the ROY Group. The risk management process is supported through the controlling and auditing functions.

(d) Avoiding and dealing with potential conflicts of interest
The Administrative Board and Managing Directors ensure that no decisions are obstructed by potential conflicts of interest. ROY Asset Holding SE’s internal rules of procedure provide for rules to avoid and deal with potential conflicts of interest.

(e) Availability of the Company’s internal rules
The Articles of Association of ROY Asset Holding SE (https://www.roykeramik.de/en/satzung/) as well as the Declaration of Compliance in accordance with Sec. 161 of the German Stock Corporation Act (https://www.roykeramik.de/en/entsprechenserklaerung/) are available on its website. ROY Asset Holding SE’s other internal rules and codes of conduct are not publicly available.

3. Cooperation between the Administrative Board and Managing Directors

ROY Asset Holding SE has a one-tier corporate governance system which is characterized by the fact that the guidance of the SE is incumbent upon a uniform body, the Administrative Board. The Administrative Board directs the Company, establishes the general principles of its business and supervises their implementation by the Managing Directors. The Managing Directors manage the business of the Company and represent the company in dealings with third parties. They are bound to instructions given by the Administrative Board.

Mr. Siegfried Lee is a member of the Administrative Board and a Managing Director and Chairman of the Administrative Board. In this double function, he coordinates the work of both corporate bodies.

The Administrative Board and Managing Directors work closely together in the interest of the Company. Their common goal is to ensure the sustainable creation of value. The internal rules of procedure of the Administrative Board and Managing Directors, as well as the cooperation between the two bodies, are laid out in detail in the Company’s rules of procedure.

The Managing Directors continuously, timely and comprehensively inform the Administrative Board on all matters which are relevant for the Company and the ROY Group. This information includes the intended business policy, the Group’s profitability, the recent development of the business activities and the financial and economic status of the Company, business planning, the actual risk situation, compliance and the status of implementation of the risk management system as well as the results of the risk management system.

For certain business transactions and measures as more specifically set forth in the rules of procedure, the Managing Directors must obtain the Administrative Board’s prior approval.

The Administrative Board did not establish any committees.

4. Decisions on promoting the participation of women in management positions

The act on the equal participation of women and men in executive positions in the private and the public sector of May 2015 required ROY Asset Holding SE (formerly: ROY Ceramics SE) to set target figures for the proportion of women on the Administrative Board, among the Managing Directors and among the next two management levels below the Managing Directors no later than September 30, 2015. In addition, it was required to specify a deadline for meeting these targets which must not go beyond June 30, 2017. When setting subsequent deadlines, the periods for achieving the targets may be up to five years.

The Administrative Board of ROY Asset Holding SE (formerly: ROY Ceramics SE) set a target figure for the proportion of women on the Administrative Board of 0 % which was to be reached no later than June 30, 2017.

The Administrative Board of ROY Asset Holding SE (formerly: ROY Ceramics SE) set a target figure for the proportion of women among the Managing Directors of 0% which has to be reached no later than June 30, 2017.

As the Holding-Company does not have any employees, the Administrative Board did not set a target for the proportion of women among the employees.

Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex

Gemäß § 289a HGB ist die ROY Ceramics SE (die „Gesellschaft“) verpflichtet eine Erklärung zur Unternehmensführung abzugeben, die entweder im Lagebericht als Teil des Jahresabschlusses enthalten und veröffentlicht wird oder alternativ auf der Internetseite öffentlich verfügbar ist. ROY Ceramics SE macht hiermit von der zweiten Alternative Gebrauch.

1. Entsprechenserklärung

Seit seiner Verabschiedung im Jahr 2002 wird der Deutsche Corporate Governance Kodex als Standard für gute Unternehmensführung herangezogen. Die Eckpunkte der Firmenphilosophie der ROY Ceramics SE wie Verantwortungsbewusstsein, Transparenz und Nachhaltigkeit entsprechen dem Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex und sind eine Grundlage des Unternehmenserfolgs. Der Verwaltungsrat und die Geschäftsführenden Direktoren verfolgen und unterstützen die Ziele und Grundsätze des Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex.

Der Verwaltungsrat hat im August 2018 die Entsprechenserklärung der Gesellschaft zum Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex gemäß § 161 des deutschen Aktiengesetzes (AktG) verabschiedet.

Die Entsprechenserklärung ist in einem gesonderten Abschnitt auf der Website der ROY Ceramics SE (Entsprechenserklärung) unter https://www.roykeramik.de/entsprechenserklaerung/ veröffentlicht.

2. Unternehmensführungspraktiken des ROY Ceramics SE

(a) Allgemein
Die Unternehmensführung der ROY Ceramics SE entspricht nicht nur den geltenden Gesetzen und Vorschriften sowie dem Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex, sondern basiert auch auf den Geschäftsordnungen des Verwaltungsrats und der Geschäftsführenden Direktoren sowie ihrer bewährten Geschäftspraxis.

Das Unternehmen hat einen schriftlichen Verhaltenskodex, der allen Mitarbeitern von ROY Ceramics SE und der Konzernunternehmen (zusammen die „ROY Gruppe“ zugänglich gemacht werden. Alle Mitarbeiter müssen sich vor ihrer Anstellung mit dem Verhaltenskodex der ROY Gruppe einverstanden erklären. Verstöße gegen die akzeptierten Richtlinien und Verfahrensweisen der ROY Gruppe sind untersagt und ziehen Sanktionen nach sich.

Die Geschäftsführenden Direktoren der ROY Ceramics SE arbeiten ständig an der Optimierung aller Aspekte ihrer Geschäftstätigkeit, z. B. im Hinblick auf die Gesundheit und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz, das Vertriebsgebahren und das Verhalten der Gesellschaft als sozial verantwortliches Unternehmen.

(b) Corporate Compliance
Ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Unternehmensführung der ROY Ceramics SE ist die Befolgung der relevanten gesetzlichen Vorschriften bei ihren geschäftlichen Aktivitäten und bei der Erstellung ihrer unternehmensinternen Richtlinien. Es gehört zu den zentralen Pflichten jedes Geschäftsbereichs, die Einhaltung der für die jeweiligen Verantwortungsbereiche geltenden Richtlinien sicherzustellen. Insbesondere erfolgten alle Geschäftsaktivitäten in China unter genauer Einhaltung der chinesischen Gesetze und internationaler Übereinkommen. Spezifische Compliance-Anforderungen sind im Verhaltenskodex der ROY Gruppe dargelegt.

(c) Risikomanagement
Die Grundsätze des Risikomanagements der Gesellschaft werden im entsprechenden Abschnitt des zusammengefassten Lageberichts ausführlich erläutert. Sie sind gemäß den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen darauf ausgelegt, dass wesentliche Risiken so frühzeitig erkannt werden, dass geeignete Maßnahmen getroffen werden können, mittels derer sich Risiken minimieren, diversifizieren, transferieren oder umgehen lassen, damit der Fortbestand der ROY Gruppe sichergestellt ist. Der Risikomanagementprozess wird durch die Funktionen des Controllings und der Abschlussprüfung unterstützt.

(d) Vermeidung von und Umgang mit möglichen Interessenkonflikten
Der Verwaltungsrat und die Geschäftsführenden Direktoren stellen sicher, dass ihre Beschlüsse nicht von möglichen Interessenkonflikten behindert werden. Die internen Geschäftsordnungen von ROY Ceramics SE enthalten Regelungen, um potenzielle Interessenskonflikte zu vermeiden oder damit umzugehen.

(e) Öffentliche Verfügbarkeit der internen Richtlinien der Gesellschaft
Die Satzung der ROY Ceramics SE (https://www.roykeramik.de/satzung/) und die Entsprechenserklärung gemäß § 161 AktG (https://www.roykeramik.de/entsprechenserklaerung/) sind auf der Website der Gesellschaft (www.roykeramik.de) veröffentlicht. Die sonstigen internen Richtlinien und der Verhaltenskodex der ROY Ceramics SE stehen der Öffentlichkeit nicht zur Verfügung.

3. Arbeitsweise von Verwaltungsrat und Geschäftsführenden Direktoren

Die ROY Ceramics SE hat ein monistisches System, das sich dadurch auszeichnet, dass die Führung der SE einem einheitlichen Leitungsorgan, dem Verwaltungsrat, obliegt. Der Verwaltungsrat leitet die Gesellschaft, bestimmt die Grundlinien ihrer Geschäftstätigkeit und überwacht deren Umsetzung durch die Geschäftsführenden Direktoren. Die Geschäftsführenden Direktoren führen die Geschäfte der Gesellschaft und vertreten die Gesellschaft gegenüber Dritten. Sie sind an Weisungen des Verwaltungsrats gebunden.

Mr. Siegfried Lee ist Mitglied des Verwaltungsrats und Geschäftsführender Direktor und wurde zum Chief Executive Officer (CEO) sowie zum Vorsitzenden des Verwaltungsrats ernannt. In dieser doppelten Funktion koordiniert er die Arbeit beider Organe.

Der Verwaltungsrat und die Geschäftsführenden Direktoren arbeiten im Interesse der Gesellschaft eng zusammen. Ihr gemeinsames Ziel besteht darin, eine nachhaltige Wertschöpfung zu erzielen. Die interne Willensbildung des Verwaltungsrats und der Geschäftsführenden Direktoren sowie die Zusammenarbeit beider Organe sind in den jeweiligen Geschäftsordnungen detailliert geregelt.

Die Geschäftsführenden Direktoren berichten dem Verwaltungsrat regelmäßig, zeitnah und umfassend über alle Fragen, die für die Gesellschaft und die ROY Gruppe von Bedeutung sind. Diese Informationen umfassen die geplante Geschäftsstrategie, die Rentabilität des Konzerns, die jüngsten Entwicklungen der Geschäftsaktivitäten, die finanzielle und wirtschaftliche Lage der Gesellschaft, die Geschäftsplanung, die tatsächliche Risikolage, die Beachtung der Gesetze und die Einhaltung von Richtlinien sowie die Fortschritte bei der Einführung des Risikomanagementsystems und die Ergebnisse des Risikomanagementsystems.

Für bestimmte Transaktionen und Maßnahmen, die in der Geschäftsordnung genauer festgelegt sind, müssen die Geschäftsführenden Direktoren die vorherige Zustimmung des Verwaltungsrats einholen.

Der Verwaltungsrat hat keine Ausschüsse gebildet.

4. Entscheidungen zur Förderung der Teilhabe von Frauen an Führungspositionen

Dem Gesetz für die gleichberechtigte Teilhabe von Frauen und Männern an Führungspositionen des privaten und öffentlichen Sektors vom Mai 2015 zufolge musste ROY Ceramics SE spätestens bis zum 30. September 2015 Zielgrößen für den Frauenanteil im Verwaltungsrat, unter den Geschäftsführenden Direktoren und in den beiden Führungsebenen unterhalb der Geschäftsführenden Direktoren festlegen. Außerdem musste eine Frist für das Erreichen dieser Ziele festgelegt werden, die nicht über den 30. Juni 2017 hinausgehen durfte. Bei späteren Festlegungen dürfen die folgenden Fristen für das Erreichen der Ziele nicht länger als fünf Jahre betragen.

Der Verwaltungsrat von ROY Ceramics SE sieht 0 % als Zielgröße für den Frauenanteil im Verwaltungsrat, die spätestens ab 30. Juni 2017 erreicht sein muss.

Der Verwaltungsrat von ROY Ceramics SE hat 0 % als Zielgröße für den Frauenanteil unter den Geschäftsführenden Direktoren festgelegt, die spätestens ab 30. Juni 2017 erreicht sein muss.

Weil die Gesellschaft keine Mitarbeiter hat, hat der Verwaltungsrat keine Zielgröße für den Frauenanteil in den Führungsebenen unterhalb der Geschäftsführenden Direktoren festgesetzt.